New Music Biennial Composer Residencies

New Music Biennial Composer Residencies have been taking place since January 2017 and will continue on until March 2018 so that local communities in Hull can spend time and create music with some of the New Music Biennial’s brilliant music creators.

The Five New Music Biennial Composers, Errollyn Wallen, Eliza Carthy, Sam Lee, Jason Singh, and Brian Irvine have worked with a range of communities from across Hull, creating music inspired by the City, rooted in the experience of it’s inhabitants.


On Saturday 24 June 2017  at Hull’s City Hall, the composers, community participants and musicians from the five separate residencies will come together to perform highlights of what they have created at a FREE concert.  Performers will fill the stage, and fill the City Hall with the sound of music and voices for Roots of the City.

Free tickets for the concert on 24 June at City Hall are available here.

In addition to this a ‘Supergroup’ performance featuring music from the residencies and led by James Redwood will be part of the New Music Biennial Festival in Hull, July 2017, where they will perform a large-scale culmination piece.

The Composer Residencies will continue beyond July 2017 with local student music leaders mentored by New Music Biennial composers.

PRS Foundation’s New Music Biennial residency programme is generously supported by Hull UK City of Culture, Paul Hamlyn Foundation and Arts Council England.

NMB Residency lock up v9



Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑